COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Pierre-Laurent Aimard
OBC Symphonic Season

Ludovic Morlot & Pierre-Laurent Aimard

Mahler, Schumann and Bach

  • Dates 21 and 22 January 2022
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

See the concert live at L’Auditori or follow it on-line at L’Auditori Digital on Saturday, January 22, 2022 at 7 p.m.

From his refuge on the shores of Lake Atter, Mahler composed a significant part of his work, a vision that continues to delve into a complex, contradictory, wide and infinite continent about to burst open at the turn of the 20th century. “What Love Tells Me” is the last movement that makes up the Third Symphony, a colossal work composed in the late 19th century and a wonderfully fresh sound that, with the process of human redemption as its bedrock, feeds on images from classical mythology and nature to erect a solemn hymn to hope.

Mahler uses references to Des Knaben Wunderhorn (The Youth’s Magic Horn) and Thus Spoke Zarathustra, by Friedrich Nietzsche, to compose a hymn of love and praise to the creator of the world and of people. The redemption of man through love is the mainstay of a movement that Mahler had also suggested calling What God Tells Me, “in the sense that God can only be conceived as love,” in words of the composer.
With one of the most unique careers of the 20th century, the music of the French-American composer Betsy Jolas arrives for the first time at L'Auditori with Letters from Bachville, a tour of Leipzig, Bach’s home city, seen from a dystopian and kaleidoscopic perspective.

J. S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048 (1711-1713) 11'
Elliott Carter: Interventions for piano and orchestra (2008) 17'
Robert Schumann: Introduction and Concert Allegro for piano and orchestra in D minor, Op. 134 (1853) 15'
Betsy Jolas: Letters from Bachville (2019) 16' - National premiere
Gustav Mahler: "What love tells me" from Symphony No. 3 (1893-1896) 25'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano
Ludovic Morlot, conductor

Related concerts