COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Symphonic Season 20-21


  • Dates ‎19 and 20 February 2021‎
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 20-21

See the concert live at L’Auditori or follow it on-line at L’Auditori Digital on Friday, February 19, 2021 at 7 p.m.

Fascinated by the way gypsies played the violin, Béla Bartók and Maurice Ravel composed miniatures for violin and orchestra that go beyond the function of virtuosic exhibition. Both Tzigane and the Rhapsody are inspired by the liveliness of traveling violinists and make a superb recreation of the Magyar sound tradition.


The Chamber Symphony Op. 73a by Dmitri Shostakovich concludes the programme. It is one of the four chamber orchestra adaptations that conductor Rudolf Barshai made of the author’s string quartets. Specifically, Op. 73a is a transcript of quartet no. 3, Op. 73, one of the last works that Shostakovich composed before the Zhanovist purge of 1947 that forced him to remove several works from his catalogue based on accusations of “formalism”, including this quartet.

Béla Bartók: Rhapsody no. 1 for violin and orchestra in G minor (1928)
Maurice Ravel: Tzigane for violin and orchestra (1924)
Joan Manén: Chanson for violin and orchestra no. 1, Op. A-8 (1910)
Dmitri Shostakovich: Chamber symphony, Op. 73a (arr. by Rudolf Barshai of the string quartet no. 3) (1946)

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)‎

Leticia Moreno, violin
Pablo González, conductor

Related concerts