Música de Cambra


  • Dates 30 May 2019
  • Hall Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
  • Cycle Música de Cambra

Consisting of Daniel Ligorio, Juan Luis Gallego and David Apellániz—three soloists of ‎international prestige—the Trio Arriaga is one of the most compelling national chamber music ‎ensembles today and at the forefront of a resurgence of the trio with piano in Catalonia, as ‎confirmed by the emergence of the young Trio Pedrell and Trio Fortuny ensembles. In their ‎concert at L’Auditori, the Trio Arriaga will offer us two great works from the chamber music ‎repertoire that are related by both the nationality of their composers and their elegiac nature. ‎Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky wrote the Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50 in 1882 in ‎memory of his friend and mentor Nikolai Rubinstein, who had died the previous year. ‎Shostakovich’s trio was written in 1944, under the weight of the years of war he had ‎experienced and the effects of the death of his beloved friend Ivan Sollertinsky, to whom he ‎dedicated the Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 67. Despite having a common ‎source of inspiration, both works express the despondency provoked by death from ‎different perspectives: Tchaikovsky’s is tinged with an overwhelming romantic ‎sentimentalism, whilst Shostakovich transports us to his world of extreme contrasts, through ‎which he expresses the suffering and horror of a humanity able to carry out the greatest of ‎atrocities.‎

TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50 ‎
SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Trio in E minor, Op. 67‎

Juan Luis Gallego, violin
David Apellániz, cello
Daniel Ligorio, piano

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here