COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Symphonic Season 20-21

The reason for destiny


  • Dates 19 and 20 December 2020
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 20-21


L'Auditori de Barcelona and the OBC Orchestra dedicate this concert to La Marató de Tv3, a charity event focussed on gathering resources for Covid-19 research.
If you attend the concert you will find different points where making your donations.
On Sunday session, some very special guests will be in the hall: the employees of the Barcelona Hospital Clinic cleaning kitchen and maintenance services, in order to thank and recognize their essential job to stop the virus.


An extremely slow process of gestation and absorption of the Germanic tradition – from George Frideric Handel’s baroque universe to Franz Schubert’s subtlety and always under Ludwig van Beethoven’s ubiquitous shadow – explains the more than twenty years taken by Johannes Brahms to produce his first symphony. His spectacular Symphony in C Minor is a bold statement of intention that radically broadens the limits of possibility in the range of sounds and feeds on a profound legacy. The symphony’s initial ascending chromatic motif has become one of the icons of romantic symphonic music in a work that includes references to the famous “Fate” motif in Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony.

Girona-born composer Núria Giménez Comas reprises fragments, images, harmonies and passages of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Mass in B Minor to shape Ad limen caeli (Towards the doorway to heaven), in a work that takes place in an intricate set of layers and reliefs.

Felix Mendelssohn: The Hebrides, concert overture, Op. 26 (1830) 10´
Núria Giménez Comas: Ad limen caeli for chamber orchestra (2018) 8'
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68 (1855-1876) 45'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Lionel Bringuier, conductor