COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Festival Mozart Nits d'estiu



Escolta’l a Spotify
  • Dates 1 July 2021‎
  • Ticket prices €35
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Festival Mozart Nits d'estiu

The programme opens with a symphony by Carles Baguer, a major figure in classical Catalan music, in an evening devoted to some of the highpoints of classical music. Thanks to his fascination for the music of Franz Joseph Haydn, Baguer introduced European orchestral and stylistic innovations to the Barcelona of the late 18th century through a vivid language that is still equally valid today.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21 and Symphony No. 39 are two of his most outstanding works. Composed during his mature stage, they are both suffused with vitality, demonstrating the true merits of a composer released from the servitude of patronage and now his own master in a Vienna that was the 18th century's musical capital. As Olivier Messiaen states, the piano concerto's famous andante is «one of the loveliest fragments in the history of music».

Carles Baguer: Symphony No. 2 in C minor (1790) 15'‎
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K 467 (1785) 30'‎
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major, K 543 (1788) 28’‎

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)‎

Albert Cano, piano
Albert Cano Smit appears by arrangement with Young Concert Artists, Inc.,
Andrea Marcon, conductor

Related concerts