Symphonic Season 19-20


Mozart 25

  • Dates 25, 26 and 27 October 2019
  • Ticket prices €12 / €34 / €44 / €59
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Approx. Duration 2h
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 19-20

Rossini achieved success thanks to his operas Il Barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville), La Cenerentola, (Cinderella) and La Gazza Ladra (The Thieving Magpie) and, at the age of 37, he retired from the scene. Although he lived for another 39 years, he only ever wrote short-format works, with the exception of this grandiose and impressive Stabat Mater: an hour of intense music worthy of the best opera composer of the early 19th century.

The work was the result of a commission he received in Madrid, but the complete and definitive version was premiered in Paris in 1842. The accolades were unanimous and he demonstrated great mastery in vocal writing. Rinaldo Alessandrini, one of the most relevant conductors in the world of musical performance with historical criteria, completes the programme with one of Mozart's youth symphonies, written at the time when he was looking for work in Italy and always carried new material with him. A work by a young man who had his whole life ahead of him.

MOZART: Symphony No. 25 in G minor, KV 183 (173dB)
ROSSINI: Stabat Mater

Barcelona Symphony and National Orchestra of Catalonia (OBC)
Rinaldo Alessandrini, conductor
Marta Mathéu, soprano
Marianne Beate Kielland, mezzo-soprano
Enea Scala, tenor
Riccardo Zanellato, bass
Madrigal Choir

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here