COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

OBC Season


Manfred by Tchaikovsky

  • Dates 11, 12, 13 October 2019
  • Ticket prices €12 / €34 / €44 / €59
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Season

The most popular piano concertos of all times in the hands of the Macedonian pianist Simon Trpceski, one of the greatest performers of the moment. His rendition of Rachmaninoff's Second Symphony has received worldwide acclaim and has won him several record prizes. We will hear him perform under the baton of the young Romanian conductor Gabriel Bebeselea, who also brings us Tchaikovsky's unique Manfred Symphony. The work, written between symphonies 4 and 5, was inspired by Lord Byron's most captivating and dramatic poem and it musically captures the ghostly and mysterious aura of the character created by the great English poet.

The concert opens with a recent work by Dutch composer Joey Roukens, which premiered at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. The work consists of experimenting with the sound waves offered by the variety of colours of the symphony orchestra.

ROUKENS: Morphic Waves
RACHMANINOFF: Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18
TCHAIKOVSKY: Manfred Symphony, Op. 58

Barcelona Symphony and National Orchestra of Catalonia (OBC)
Gabriel Bebeselea, conductor
Simon Trpceski, piano

Related concerts