COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Anja Bihlmaier
OBC Symphonic Season

Sibelius 2

  • Dates 18 and 19 December 2021
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

More than a hundred years separate Jean Sibelius’ Symphony no. 2 from Liguria by the Swedish composer Andrea Tarrodi, but both works emerge from the fascination with Italy of their composers. In the case of the latter, the impulse to compose the piece arises from the impression generated by the route of different paths near the Ligurian Sea that connect the small fishing villages nestled among the rocky cliffs.

Jean Sibelius’ original ideas for his Second Symphony were conceived during a trip to Italy in 1901. The initial project of shaping Dante’s Divine Comedy into a symphonic poem was transformed into the conception of a major symphony in four movements that became the swansong for a period in which the composer followed the models of the great Romantic tradition. The serious and profound style and the meticulous work creating an internal connection between all the parts that make up the work constitute the cornerstone of a new model for symphonies that Sibelius developed throughout his subsequent works and that his Danish contemporary Carl Nielsen developed widely. The Clarinet Concerto by this composer is one of the most important contributions to the clarinet repertoire of the 20th century.

Andrea Tarrodi: Liguria (2012) 10'
Carl Nielsen: Clarinet Concerto, Op. 57 (1928) 24'
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 43 (1901-1902) 43'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Pablo Barragán, clarinet
Anja Bihlmaier, conductor

Related concerts