COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto OBC
Other OBC Concerts

Robert Gerhard Festival

  • Dates 24 July 2021
  • Hall Sala Oval, MNAC
  • Cycle Other OBC Concerts

Written during the composer's most prolific period in his desire to form part of international circuits following his exile, the Concerto for Violin and Orchestra‎ by Robert Gerhard is an eclectic work inspired by different sources, from elements of free post-Romanticism to quotes from texts or the twelve-tone series used by Arnold Schoenberg, as well as the La Marselleise and different Catalan dances. Premiered in 1950 by violinist Antoni Brosa at the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, it was performed in Barcelona in 1964 by the City Orchestra of Barcelona in the first concert of work by Gerhard following the Spanish Civil War.

The composer's last symphony, “New York”, was commissioned by the New York Philharmonic Orchestra to mark its 125th season. It is made up of thirteen movements, performed continuously, with massive orchestration, leading to one of his most complex, fascinating works. Conceived as a continuation of a pathway he had embarked on with the vast 1965 Concerto for Orchestra, the language of this symphony is bold and radically unorthodox.

Robert Gerhard: Violin Concerto (1942-1943) 37'
Robert Gerhard: Symphony No. 4 New York (1967) 26'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Edmon Colomer, conductor