COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Symphonic Season 20-21


  • Dates 11, 12 and 13 December 2020
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 20-21

The session on Friday, December 11, 2020 of this concert, initially scheduled at 8 p.m., moves forward to 7 p.m. Same tickets will be valid for the new schedule..
In order to comply with the guidelines of PROCICAT, L'Auditori de Barcelona has modified some schedules, so that the audience can return home with no rush.

Baldur Brönnimann will replace Kazushi Ono, who has had to cancel his participation in this concert due to health reasons.
We deeply regret the inconvenience this change may have caused and wish Master Kazushi Ono a quick recovery.


Watch the live stream concert at L’Auditori Digital on Sunday, December 13, 2020 at 11 a.m.

One of the distinguishing features of French music is the care for color. From Jean-Philippe Rameau to spectralism, to Hector Berlioz and Claude Debussy, we can find a refined and voluptuous conception of instrumentation and orchestration, with a special focus on timbre games.


Claude Debussy’s Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune takes its name from the eponymous poem by Stéphane Mallarmé. Its musical fragments treated as a succession of sketches of pantheistic scenes make this work crucially relevant to understanding both last century’s orchestral music and modern dance based on Vaslav Nijinsky’s choreography of the piece.

Marc-André Dalbavie’s flute concerto, which he dedicated to Emmanuel Pahud, is a bold search for the possibilities of tone and the sound process as drivers of a virtuosity that is never redundant.

Ma mère l’Oye, the last work in the program, takes its name from Charles Perrault's classic collection of short stories published in 1697, and begins with a prelude. Original for four-handed piano and written in 1908, it was a gift from Maurice Ravel to Mimi and Jean Godebski, children of two of his best friends.

Claude Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, L 86 (1894) 11'
Marc-André Dalbavie: Flute concerto (2006) 18'
Maurice Ravel: Ma mère l'oye (1911) 29'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Emmanuel Pahud, flute
Baldur Brönnimann, conductor

Related concerts