COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Tabita Berglund
OBC Symphonic Season

Peer Gynt

  • Dates 13 and 14 November 2021
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

A product of Scandinavian music, the Norwegian Edvard Grieg trained within the Central European tradition to then delve deeper into the universe of Norse folklore. Encouraged by Franz Liszt, his legacy was the creation of a Norwegian national musical identity, in the same way Jean Sibelius created one in Finland and Antonín Dvořák in Bohemia.

One of Edvard Grieg’s most famous pieces is the Peer Gynt suite, originally conceived as incidental music for the eponymous drama by Henrik Ibsen. This masterpiece of theatrical repertoire narrates the adventures of Peer Gynt to win the love of Solveig, a love that leads to repudiation, expulsion from the community, immersion and transit through exotic and dream worlds and permanent flight. The story of this archetype for Don Juan is transformed here into the tale of an evasive and tormented antihero. The music of Grieg, a little-known composer at the time, achieves in Peer Gynt a profound quality and a subtle and enchanting expression, bright and filled with magic, able to transform the theatrical text into a pretext for a charming musical fantasy.

Edvard Grieg: Lyric Suite, Op. 54 (1891) 20'‎
Edvard Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor (1868) 28'‎
Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt, Prelude and Suites Nos. 1 and 2 (1874-1875) 35'‎

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)‎

Marie-Ange Nguci, piano
Tabita Berglund, conductor

Related concerts