OBC Chamber Music



  • Dates ‎23 April 2019‎
  • Hall Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
  • Cycle OBC Chamber Music

Dedicated to Debussy, who had recently died, Ravel wrote Sonata for violin and ‎cello in memory of the great musician with whom he is often associated. Written in ‎‎1922, it became part of the school of the post-war generation of composers who opted for ‎music based on economy of means. Together with his string quartet, it is one of Ravel's ‎chamber masterpieces. Dvořák composed String Quintet No. 2 in 1875 for the ‎unusual quartet ensemble with double bass. Although initially it had five movements, he ‎considered it too lengthy and decided to remove one of the slow movements, although ‎nowadays it is sometimes included in performances.‎

RAVEL: Sonata for violin and cello
DVOŘÁK: String Quintet No. 2, Op. 77‎

Vlad Stanculeasa, violin
Alexandra Presaizen, violin
Jose Mor, cello
Viola to be confirmed
Christoph Rahn, double bass

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here