OBC Chamber Music


BRAHMS AND MOZART I – Great Clarinet Quintets ‎

  • Dates ‎25 September 2018‎
  • Hall Hall 2 Oriol Martorell
  • Cycle OBC Chamber Music

Mozart's Clarinet Quintet is one of the first pieces for this ensemble in which the possibilities ‎of the string quartet are complemented by the clarinet – still a young instrument at that time ‎‎- that had made such a great impression on the Salzburg composer in the hands of Anton ‎Stadler, to whom he dedicated this extraordinary composition. More than a hundred years ‎later, Brahms, attracted by the musicality of the clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld, whom he heard ‎performing Mozart´s Quintet, completed the composition of his Clarinet Quintet, Op. 115, ‎which along with Mozart´s are among the most celebrated works for this chamber ensemble.‎

MOZART: Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581‎
BRAHMS: Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115 ‎

Cristian Chivu, violin
Alexandra Presaizen, violin
David Derrico, viola‎
José Mor, cello
Josep Fuster, clarinet‎

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here