Photo of Mireia Farrés
OBC Season



  • Dates 4 and 5 May 2019
  • Ticket prices 10€/33€/43€/58€
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Season

The composers in this programme would be enough to justify Vienna’s reputation as the capital of music. Three of the most important composers of all time lived there and premièred their work: Haydn, Mozart and Schubert.

Jan Willem de Vriend brings them together in this programme, which highlights the range of styles and languages that coexisted in the world of music between the Classical period and the early years of Romanticism. We will hear the energetic overture of Schubert’s The Magic Harp in which the composer’s lyricism predominates from the very beginning and the concerto for trumpet par excellence played by our soloist Mireia Farrés. The second part is dedicated to Mozart with his Notturno in D major and his most popular and grandiose symphonies, dedicated to the city of Prague because, as the composer himself said: “My Praguers understand me”.

Schubert: Overture “Die Zauberharfe”
Haydn: Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra in E-flat major Hob VIIe:1
Mozart: Serenade No. 8 in D major, KV 269a “Notturno”
Mozart: Symphony No. 38 in D major, KV504 “Prague”

Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya (OBC)
Jan Willem de Vriend, conductor
Mireia Farrés, trumpet

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here