COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Josep-Ramon Olivé
OBC Symphonic Season

La passione

  • Dates 5 and 6 de February 2022
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

See the concert live at L’Auditori or follow it on-line at L’Auditori Digital on Sunday, February 6, 2022 at 11 a.m.

Franz Joseph Haydn’s Symphony no. 49, known as La passione, is one of the most representative works of the composer’s Sturm und Drang (Storm and Stress) period, characterised by intense and vigorous expressiveness. The symphony has a structure that follows the model of the Baroque sonata da chiesa, four movements in the same key headed by a slow time signature with a bleak and elegiac character.

The music of the Austrian composer Alexander Zemlinsky is based on the harmonic and formal universe of the late period works by Johannes Brahms and Gustav Mahler. Cleaving closely to the concerns of the Second Viennese School, although without embracing that School’s boldest aesthetic postulates, the renowned Lyric Symphony draws on the text of The Gardener, by Rabindranath Tagore, to create a colossal seven-movement symphonic canvas with two vocal soloists.
The concert opens with Obreda, by Joan Magrané. With its title taken from Perejaume's eponymous text, the poetic idea of a grove of works gives shape to a sound space as a metaphor for human nature and action.

Joan Magrané Figuera: Obreda (2020) 17'
Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 49 in F minor La passione (1768) 22'
Alexander Zemlinsky: Lyrische Symphony (Lyric Symphony), Op. 18 (1922-23) 50’

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Annette Dasch, soprano
Josep-Ramon Olivé, baritone
Kazushi Ono, conductor

Related concerts