Photo of Rafael Payare
OBC Season



  • Dates 15, 16 and 17 February 2019
  • Ticket prices 10€/33€/43€/58€
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Season

‎“Here the experience of the man and the artist converge”, is how Richard Strauss describes ‎his work Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life), an immense, climactic and extremely demanding ‎autobiographical symphonic poem. One of the greatest symphonic musical creations of all ‎time.‎

The programme concludes with another piece from the same composer and the latest work ‎from Hungarian composer Peter Eötvös, with his intense work written with the hope of ‎making the world a better place. In Frankfurt, exactly 120 years ago, with an orchestra of ‎more than 100 musicians, Strauss enjoyed considerable success with this work, demanding ‎for both orchestra and conductor, which depicts the different stages of life. When Strauss ‎reflected on death and beyond, he did so in the form of a tone poem, “Death and ‎Transfiguration”, or resurrection, or reincarnation or whatever follows, seen for their beauty. ‎The final work by Peter Eötvös is a symphonic memorial for the many refugees who have ‎drowned in the Mediterranean. The work does however express rays of hope through this ‎highly topical and emotional music that desires to help make the world a fairer place.‎

STRAUSS: Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration), Op. 24‎
EÖTVÖS: Alle vittime senza nome‎
STRAUSS: Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life), Op. 40‎

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)‎
Rafael Payare
, conductor

With the collaboration of

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here