COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Kazushi Ono
OBC Symphonic Season

Enigma Variations

  • Dates 9 and 10 October 2021
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

In 1899, Edward Elgar composed the Enigma Variations, a theme with fourteen variations, each of which is a “musical portrait” of the composer’s good friends and loved ones. Beyond what could be conveyed within the enigmatic title of this piece, it is the work that catapulted the author to his status as the pre-eminent British composer of his time, with unorthodox and eclectic music that marked careers such as those of Benjamin Britten and Thomas Adès.


The horn is the featured instrument in Mozart’s concertos and also here in Moment of Blossoming, the work by Japanese composer Toshio Hosokawa, which describes the flowering process from a very unique sound and musical conception. The image of the flower is a recurring motif in the music of Hosokawa, a symbol of the awakening and arousal of human consciousness. The horn represents the human being, while the orchestra becomes nature and the universe that surround it. The concert is, therefore, a process of discovery using the primordial relationship with nature.

Toshio Hosokawa: Moment of Blossoming, French horn concerto (2010) 18' – National premiere
W. A. Mozart: French horn concerto No. 3 in E flat, K 447 (1787) 16'
Edward Elgar: Enigma Variations, Op. 36 (1898-1899) 31'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Stefan Dohr, French horn
Kazushi Ono, conductor

Related concerts