COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Ruth Reinhardt
OBC Symphonic Season

Brahms Violin Concerto

Dvořák 7‎

  • Dates 26 and 27 November 2021
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 € / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

Violinist Alexandra Conunova will replace violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, who cancelled its participation to this concert.
As a result of this change, the program has also changed.

Antonin Dvořák's Symphony no. 7 is, along with his Ninth or the New World Symphony, the most recognised of his works. With an ambitious structure and colossal dimensions, the author feeds on the incipient Bohemian patriotic fervour to compose one of the true masterpieces of Czech nationalism. The symphony was premiered under the baton of the composer himself in London in 1885.
Johannes Brahms’ violin concerto is undoubtedly one of the great works in the romantic repertoire. Written in the same key as the other two great nineteenth-century violin concertos (those by Beethoven and Tchaikovsky), Brahms’ work is the clearest embodiment of the epitome of confrontation on equal terms between soloist and orchestra.
The concert begins with the overture Žárlivost (Jealousy) by Leoš Janáček, originally written as the overture for his opera Jenůfa.


Leoš Janáček: Jealousy (1895) 6'
Johaness Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 77 (1878) 38'
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony no. 7 in re m, op. 70 (1885) 40'

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)‎

Alexandra Conunova, violin
Ruth Reinhardt, conductor

Related concerts