COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Lidia Vinyes Curtis
OBC Symphonic Season


  • Dates 19 and 20 November 2021
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

Mezzo-soprano Lidia Vinyes-Curtis will replace Maria José Llergo, who cancelled its participation to this concert.
The repertoire will remain the same.

See the concert live at L’Auditori or follow it on-line at L’Auditori Digital on Saturday, November 20, 2021 at 7 p.m.

The ballet music for Cinderella was one of the last works composed by Sergei Prokofiev with the approval of the Soviet authorities, shortly before he fell into a tragic ostracism. The author draws on the tale of Cinderella to pay homage to Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, the undisputed mainstay of Russian ballet music. The Suites compile different sections of the ballet and vividly portray various scenes from the heroine’s tale, with an unmistakable orchestral brilliance that masterfully illustrates a universal story about unjust oppression and triumphant rescue.


Tres amores oscuros (Three Dark Loves), by Enric Palomar, is a triptych for solo male and female singers (known as cantaors), two pianos and an orchestra. Based on excerpts from Blood Wedding and Yerma, by Federico García Lorca, and the Old Testament episode of Tamar and Amnon, the piece explores the telluric, unruly and unbridled dimension of love. In these three romantic dialogues passion is driven by ancestral forces that transcend all reason.

Enric Palomar: Tres amores oscuros (Three Dark Loves) for two singers, two pianos and ‎orchestra (2021) 40' - World premiere, commissioned work
Sergei Prokofiev: Cinderella Op. 87 (1944). Selection 29'‎

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)‎

Marco Mezquida, piano
Carles Marigó, piano
Lidia Vinyes-Curtis, mezzosoprano
Pere Martínez, cante
Josep Caballé, conductor

Related concerts