COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Foto Juanjo Mena
OBC Symphonic Season

Brahms 3

  • Dates 30 and 31 October 2021
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle OBC Symphonic Season

See the concert live at L’Auditori or follow it on-line at L’Auditori Digital on Sunday, October 31, 2021 at 11 a.m.

Frei aber froh (Free but happy) was one of Johannes Brahms’ favourite maxims. The acronym formed by the three words forms the central motif of Symphony no. 3, a work imbued with a heroic spirit and a formal and emotional density that distinguishes it from the author's other symphonies. Robert Schumann’s influence is also present in a symphony that constitutes one of the greatest contributions in Brahms’ mature creative phase to the orchestral repertoire.

Symphony no. 44 by Franz Joseph Haydn takes its name Trauer (Mourning) because the author asked for the Adagio to be performed at his funeral. Conceived in four movements, it is one of the symphonies that form part of the composer's Sturm und Drang (Storm and Stress) period, characterised by intense and vibrant expressiveness.
The world premiere of In luce praesenti (In the light of the present), by Barcelona composer Miquel Oliu, completes this concert.

Franz Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 44 in E minor “Trauer” (“Mourning”), Hoboken I/44 (1772) 27’
Miquel Oliu: In luce praesenti (2020) 16’ – World premiere, commissioned work
Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90 (1883) 33’

Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC)

Juanjo Mena, conductor

Related concerts