COVID-19. Security measures to access L’Auditori de Barcelona. MORE INFO

Symphonic Season 20-21

About Don Giovanni

  • Dates ‎12, 13 and 14 February 2021‎
  • Ticket prices €25 / €35 / €45 / €55
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 20-21

The ONE visits L'Auditori with a programme led by a personalised reading of Don Giovanni by José Luis Turina. Originally written for a cello octet, the paraphrase is structured in three sections compiled from quoted and deconstructed materials from Mozart’s opera.

The genesis of Haydn’s extraordinary C major concerto for cello is inseparable from Joseph Franz Weigl, a cellist virtuoso of the Estherházy Court Orchestra, of which the composer was musical director. Although today it is one of the undisputed references in the cello repertoire, it was not until 1961 that this concert was rediscovered and edited. The technical demands of this concert live up to full lyricism and overwhelming musicality.
Robert Schumann christened his first symphony with the name Spring. His intention was to capture musically spring’s burst of energy and vivacity in the same way he had previously done with the lieder Liebesfrühling, Op. 37. In fact, each of the symphony’s movements initially bore the following titles: El començament de la primavera, (The beginning of spring ) Capaltard (Late afternoon), Alegres companys de joc (Cheerful playmates,) and Primavera en plena floració, (Spring in full bloom), clearly evocative indications of the Romantic’s fascination with nature.

José Luis Turina: Paráfrasis sobre “Don Giovanni” for string orchestra (2000) 11’
Franz Joseph Haydn: Cello concerto no. 1 in C major, Hob.VIIb:1 (1765) 24’
Robert Schumann: Symphony no. 1 in B-flat major “Primavera”, Op. 38 (1841) 30’

Spanish National Orchestra

Asier Polo, cello
David Afkham, conductor

Related concerts