Symphonic Season 19-20


Opening concert

  • Dates 27, 28 and 29 September 2019
  • Ticket prices 12€ / 39€ / 52€ / 70€
  • Hall Hall 1 Pau Casals
  • Cycle Symphonic Season 19-20

We begin the season by celebrating a birthday: the 150th anniversary of one of the most important symphonic choral works of all time, A German Requiem, by Johannes Brahms, a composer who features prominently in this year's programme. In this performance, our principal conductor will be accompanied by the Orfeó Català youth choir and two internationally renowned soloists who are back to collaborate with the OBC.

Brahms consolidated his reputation as a composer with this requiem that purposely avoids the canonical structure of masses for the dead, opting instead to seek the more human aspects of death, with a highly expressive text. The programme opens with a new work by Barcelona-born composer Ferran Cruixent, following last year's success with Deus ex machina, in which he incorporated the sound of the mobile phones of orchestra members.

FERRAN CRUIXENT: Human Brother, for soprano and orchestra. Commissioned work.
BRAHMS: A German Requiem, Op. 45

Barcelona Symphony and National Orchestra of Catalonia (OBC)
Kazushi Ono, conductor
Ilona Krzywicka, soprano
Dietrich Henschel, baritone
Orfeó Català

Related concerts

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here