The Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC) opens the Bartók Focus and launches its new Thursday ‎subscription

The Barcelona Symphony Orchestra (OBC) opens the Bartók Focus and launches its new Thursday ‎subscription

The suite from “The Miraculous Mandarin” will mark the start of the OBC’s journey through ‎Béla Bartók’s three stage works. The prestigious pianist Stefan Vladar will perform Brahms' ‎Piano Concerto No. 1, conducted by Kazushi Ono. The OBC is launching its new Thursday ‎subscription, with six concerts by the orchestra over the full season.

The second programme by the Barcelona Symphony Orchestra gets underway with two ‎novel propositions: the first is an invitation to the start of the Bartók Focus, which will explore ‎the three stage works by this composer; and the second, the launch of the new Thursday ‎subscription, offering audiences the chance to enjoy the OBC during the week. ‎

The Bártok Focus is a journey the orchestra will go on over the coming months through the ‎three stage works by the great Hungarian composer. It will begin this week with the suite ‎from the ballet “The Miraculous Mandarin”, whose première in Cologne in 1926 provoked ‎scandalous uproar. This will be followed by “Bluebeard's Castle” (24 and 25 November) and ‎‎“The Wooden Prince” (7, 8 and 9 May), conducted by Cristian Măcelaru.‎

This second programme by the OBC featuring “The Miraculous Mandarin” will be rounded off ‎with Piano Concerto No. 1 by Brahms, a work written by the composer when he was 25 and ‎which will be performed by the outstanding Austrian solo pianist Stefan Vladar. Audiences ‎will also be able to enjoy “Lexicon III”, the latest work by Italian composer Ivan Fedele ‎

With regard to the new subscription, as of this season, the OBC will present six programmes ‎on Thursdays, offering the public the chance to enjoy the orchestra during the week. This will ‎be the first of these concerts.‎

Other news

  • 30 June 2020

  • 19 June 2020

  • 17 June 2020

  • 15 June 2020

See all news

We use cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can get more information here